Free · no sign-in

E-invoice applicability checker

Answer two questions about your turnover and see whether e-invoicing applies to you, whether the 30-day reporting limit applies, and how many HSN digits your bills need.

= ₹6,00,00,000

= ₹4,50,00,000

E-invoice applicability

E-invoice

Mandatory

A year since 2017-18 crossed ₹5 crore, so B2B invoices, credit and debit notes, exports and SEZ supplies need an IRN.

30-day reporting limit

Does not apply

Below ₹10 crore last year, or e-invoice not mandatory. Report on the day you bill anyway.

HSN digits on invoices

4 digits

Turnover up to ₹5 crore: 4 digits on B2B invoices, optional on B2C.

Works in your browser. Nothing you type is stored or sent.

Rules checked on 17-10-2026

How to use the checker

  1. Enter your highest aggregate turnover in any financial year since 2017-18, in crore. Aggregate turnover is the total of all GSTINs on your PAN across India.
  2. Enter last financial year's aggregate turnover. For FY 2026-27 that is FY 2025-26.
  3. Tick the box if your business is in one of the exempt categories listed below.
  4. Read the three answers: e-invoice, the 30-day limit and HSN digits.

The e-invoice limit: ₹5 crore

Since 1 August 2023 (Notification 10/2023-Central Tax), a registered business must issue e-invoices if its aggregate turnover in any financial year from 2017-18 onwards exceeded ₹5 crore.[1] The test looks back over every year, so once you cross the limit, e-invoicing stays even if turnover later falls.

E-invoicing means reporting each invoice to an Invoice Registration Portal (IRP) and getting an IRN and a signed QR code back. It covers B2B tax invoices, credit notes and debit notes, exports, and supplies to SEZs. Sales to consumers (B2C) are not reported to the IRP.

How the e-invoice turnover limit came down
FromE-invoice applied above
1 Oct 2020₹500 crore
1 Jan 2021₹100 crore
1 Apr 2021₹50 crore
1 Apr 2022₹20 crore
1 Oct 2022₹10 crore
1 Aug 2023₹5 crore (still in force)

At the time of checking, no lower limit had been notified for FY 2026-27. Talk of a ₹2 crore limit has not become a notification. Verify

The 30-day reporting limit: ₹10 crore

From 1 April 2025, businesses with aggregate annual turnover (AATO) of ₹10 crore or more cannot report an invoice, credit note or debit note to the IRP more than 30 days after its date.[2] The IRP rejects the request, and a B2B bill without an IRN is not a valid tax invoice. Read what happens on day 31.

HSN digits on your invoices

Notification 78/2020-Central Tax sets the HSN code length by last year's aggregate turnover.[3]

  • Up to ₹5 crore: 4-digit HSN on B2B invoices (optional on B2C).
  • Above ₹5 crore: 6-digit HSN on all tax invoices.

Worked examples

  • A distributor at ₹4.2 crore last year whose best year was ₹5.6 crore (FY 2022-23): e-invoice is mandatory (a year above ₹5 crore); no 30-day limit; 4-digit HSN is enough by last year's turnover.
  • A wholesaler at ₹12 crore last year: e-invoice mandatory, 30-day limit applies, 6-digit HSN.
  • A trader whose best year was exactly ₹5 crore: not covered yet, because the turnover must exceed ₹5 crore. Watch this year's sales.

Who is exempt

These are exempt from e-invoicing even above the limit: SEZ units (not SEZ developers), insurance companies, banking companies and financial institutions including NBFCs, goods transport agencies, passenger transport services, admission to cinema in multiplex screens, and government departments and local authorities. Verify Exempt businesses above the limit must print a declaration on their invoices that e-invoicing does not apply to them.

General information, not tax advice. The test uses aggregate turnover on your PAN; your CA can confirm the figure and any exemption.

Sources

Checked on 17 Oct 2026. Official portal: einvoice1.gst.gov.in.

  1. Notification 10/2023-Central Tax, 10 May 2023 (₹5 crore from 1 August 2023), listed on the IRP notifications page: einvoice6.gst.gov.in.
  2. IRP notice: revised time limit for e-invoice reporting for businesses with AATO of ₹10 crore and above: einvoice6.gst.gov.in.
  3. Notification 78/2020-Central Tax and the GSTN advisory on HSN in GSTR-1 Table 12: tutorial.gst.gov.in.

More free tools

FAQ

E-invoice applicability: common questions

Still unsure? Ask your CA, or write to us from the contact page.

What is the e-invoice limit for FY 2026-27?

Aggregate turnover above ₹5 crore in any financial year from 2017-18. No change had been notified for FY 2026-27 when we checked.

My turnover fell below ₹5 crore. Do I stop e-invoicing?

No. The test is any year since 2017-18, so once a year crossed ₹5 crore, e-invoicing continues.

Is turnover counted per GSTIN?

No. Aggregate turnover adds up every GSTIN on the same PAN across India.

Does e-invoicing apply to B2C bills?

No. B2C invoices are not reported to the IRP. E-invoicing covers B2B invoices, credit and debit notes, exports and SEZ supplies.

Who must report within 30 days?

Businesses with aggregate annual turnover of ₹10 crore or more, from 1 April 2025. Older documents are rejected by the IRP.

Is my turnover saved?

No. The check runs in your browser and nothing is sent to us.

Free to start

E-invoices without the extra portal

Moharbill gets the IRN when you save the bill, counts the 30 days on every pending invoice and checks HSN digits before the IRP does.

Illustration of a hand pressing the red Moharbill seal on a printed GST bill, next to a laptop invoice with QR code and a phone with a payment tick.